Do You Remember The Legend Of Zelda?

Posted on December 17, 2010

1



Nostalgia can be powerful and moving; a compression of emotions packaged in bright yellow box of delight (positive memories that is). I had no idea that games could provide the strongest sense I’ve nostalgia I’ve felt…possibly ever. Here, take a look at what I mean. Have you ever played The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time? If the answer is yes, watch the video below in a relaxed and silent environment.

Done?

Did you feel the emotional tingles dance along your spine? Your eyes water flooding with it memories of childhood? It’s amazing how such a beautiful composition can scavenge through the maze within your head and pluck out the memories related to the smooth and tear-jerking flow of the glissando of notes played that is The Legend of Zelda.

1998

It was indeed a blissful day when I turned 7. One of my largest parties I’ve ever held (thanks mommy and daddy) had just died down. Streamers, balloons  and food scraps littered the place as a result of the aftermath. I didn’t really notice though, my attention was zoomed on to the large bucket of towering presents like a hawk on its prey. I left the best present to last, a small box wrapped in shiny gold – “FROM MUM AND DAD”. The present turned out to be the best game I’ve played, period. The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time.

I remember the first time slotting the cartridge into the Nintendo 64 (giving it a routine blow first!) without the slightest clue that this game would be an absolute masterpiece. I was interrupted however, by a calling for dinner – that was the first time I had heard the opening theme heard above – as it played over and over with Epona’s constant clickity-clack as she ran across the picturesque fields of Hyrule whilst I scoffed down my dinner, eager as I was to start playing.

I remember the day when I walked to school with my grandpa and sister as per se and having been told upon arrival that they were having a large staff meeting, so “come back at noon Andrew”. I then excitedly rang mum who was at work, if I could hop on the N64 and play a small session of The Legend of Zelda as my parents were strict on game time back in the good ol’ days. I ran around the Hyrule markets with its staccato beats resonating a happy vibe for hours without a clue as to how I could advance through the game. Then back to school it was.

Fast forward a month of two, and I remember almost conquering the complex maze that was the blasted water temple as I was just about to face off with the sub-boss Shadow Link while the smell of fresh herbs, rice noodles, vegetables and meat lingered in the spring air yet was pulled to the table before I could make shadow link pay for putting me through hours of treacherous and methodical thinking to get me through the puzzles that was too much to handle for my 7 year old brain.

So thank you, Legend of Zelda: The Ocarina of Time, for being such a masterpiece of unparalleled proportions that has given not only myself, but countless others around the world, a token to remind us of our childhood. The 90’s really were the golden years.

So how has The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time impacted you? Let me know in the comments below!

Posted in: Gaming